THOUGHTS ON TRUST

Trust everyone even if it hurts...

Could there be a better caption to tickle my fantasy in this new month? I doubt so! I am in a reflective mood: assessing things gone, actions done and consequences borne. The last leap year stands out in my memories like a leprous finger—I wish I could undo a lot in that year. But like a child burnt by the fire, I said ‘ouch!’ and have since moved on.

This month is notorious for the treachery of man, the actual beginning of man’s inhumanity to man. A day in this month earmarked as Ides of March when the closest allies of an emperor murdered him in cold blood (I wonder the use of that phrase, could there be warm-blooded murder?).

That was the death of Julius Caesar in the hands of Marcus Junius Brutus and Gaius Cassius Longinus. For many that is a classic premise for their myopic distrust of fellow species.

My thought on trust is that without an element of trust we cannot make a head way in our daily lives. We see all around us people crying for only a modicum of trust and they could turn around the world. All triumphs, all breakthroughs are celebrations of those who stood at the brink of existence, defied the cynicism of others, saw far into the future enough to stick out their necks and take a chance on somebody’s dream or themselves.

It is easy for us not to trust those unfortunate enough to be acquainted to us but it beats my imagination how we sell-out ourselves to total strangers.

In my early life, mother warned us not to collect grubs and the likes from strangers, even schoolmates—apocalyptic teachings were rife then—but she hands out dough to us to purchase grubs on our own. I never ceased to wonder that if Satan (why do some pentecostals preachers call him: Satan the Devil?) cared enough to populate Hell why border to use my friend; he could own a grocery store and lure all he cares.

My Father would not allow me to drive him in his car but would gladly hop into a bus at the bus station without asking for the license of the supposed driver. ‘He can’t be here if he couldn’t drive a car. The authority here wouldn’t allow that’ he had told me someday.

We are quick to trust the authorities but never give our relations the benefit of doubt. What if there is a grand conspiracy to test-run some possibilities? As I was made to know in the course of my national service year, as a Development Knowledge Facilitator, by a local who believes immunisation is a plan by the government to depopulate our country. You see, people could go to any length to distrust anything.

My take on this, is that our readiness to be distrustful of our close allies is killing the possibilities our relationship could assume.

If you don’t want to bestow trust you don’t deserve to be trusted either. The level of trust we give out says a lot about our inner being.

6 thoughts on “THOUGHTS ON TRUST”

  1. I had a challenge like the one in the picture. It was extraordinarily amazing! You’re absolutely right. “The level of trust we give out says a lot about our inner being.”

    Loving this! 🙂

    Subhan Zein

  2. I often think that those who distrust, do so because they are themselves untrustworthy. But there is a second factor – some people distrust because they have trusted too many times and were burnt for their trust.

    Still, I would rather trust and be burnt than distrust always. Such a sad existence to always be wary of others.

Common, let's have your say!

